Book Report: a Review of Liz Kuba’s “How to Find a Bra That Fits”

A little while back, Liz Kuba reached out to me and asked if I’d like a copy of her book to review. I agreed, the book arrived, and my life promptly got crazy (had to move quite suddenly, lost my job, fell down a flight of stairs, etc)… and the book sat for a bit, unreviewed. But since digital copies of “How to Find a Bra That Fits” are FREE on Smashwords during the month of April, now isn’t a terrible time for me to finally post this review.

My first thought was something along the lines of “A book… on how to find a bra that fits? How on earth do you find enough content to fill a book?” But, rest assured, it’s a quick and engaging read! It’s 46 short pages, and light enough to read in one sitting. I’d personally prefer to read this sort of thing as a pdf (you can download the pdf on Smashwords) or blog post(s), but I know that there are people out there who strongly prefer physical books. This would also be a fantastic book to have lying around in a bra boutique.

“How to Find a Bra That Fits” is definitely written for someone with little to no knowledge of how bras should fits… so pretty much everyone who hasn’t devoted weird amounts of time to untangling this complicated subject. (I suspect that it won’t be a life-changing read for bra-fit bloggers like myself, but we’re certainly not the audience for which the book was written.) The book tackles such subjects as: the American bra industry, bra anatomy, size naming conventions, sister-sizes, signs of ill-fit, how to measure for a bra, trying on bras, bra care, and bra myths. If someone had given me a copy of this back in middle school, it would have saved me years of pain, frustration, and embarrassment. The text is approachable, amusing, engaging, and, most importantly, simple enough not to completely overwhelm the reader.

Unlike some more militant bra-fitting guides, “How to Find a Bra That Fits” does a fantastic job of acknowledging that every bra-fitting and bra-care “rule” has its exceptions. I did wish that Liz’s examples hadn’t all been of women who use “she/her” pronouns, since many bra-wearing people (myself included) don’t identify as female or see bras as a gendered thing, but I was happy to see that the book acknowledge transwomen.

Overall, I think this is a really helpful book for those just starting to learn about bra and bra-fitting.

Paperback copies of “How to Find a Bra That Fits” are $8.99 and kindle copies are $0.99 on Amazon. During April 2015, the book is free on Smashwords!

2 thoughts on “Book Report: a Review of Liz Kuba’s “How to Find a Bra That Fits”

  1. Thanks for the review. A very informative read for anyone that wears a bra. As a Cross Dresser I found the information very helpful and should make my next purchase a lot easier.

Leave a Reply

