The Parfait Delphine is Divine

I haven’t talked about Parfait in a long while. Since my boobs play better with extremely narrow wires, I’ve been mostly wearing Comexim… but I did mention that I sometimes sacrifice the perfect fit for a really awesome bra, and Parfait offers quite a few awesome bras. The Casey is the best D+ moulded-cup bra I’ve ever tried, the Charlotte is gorgeous, and they release sets in absolutely gorgeous colours and exciting prints.

The one thing I am sad about is the size range (okay, and the underwire width). While the bands do run a bit small and some of the cups a bit big, most of their bras are still only available in 30-40 D-G. A lot of us were hoping that their size expansion (28-40 D-K) of the Charlotte, Alexis, and Sophia would be followed with a change in sizing for Parfait in general. Not so… at least not yet.

Despite the Delphine bra not being made in my proper size, when I saw promotional photos floating around the internet, I was so struck by the print that I absolutely had to try it. Here, you’ll see what I mean:

Delphine_HalfPadded Bra4121_Brief4103_Autumn Print 01 Delphine_WireBra4102_Hipster4105_Autumn Print 02Parfait was kind enough to offer a sample for review. Since I do sometimes sister-size to 32+ bands, I have found that a technically smaller cup sometimes works with a looser band. I was torn between a 32G and a 34G, and eventually decided on the 32G. I think I’m glad that I went with the 32G, as it seems to be the best compromise.

Fit: I went into this knowing I wouldn’t have a perfect fit. The band fits like a 30/32, and I’m currently more of a 28/30. The cups do actually run quite a bit large, but due to the silicone strip sewn to the top of the lace, the top section cuts into my upper tissue. Basically, this fits like a 30HH/32H. If they made a 30GG in this bra, it would probably work for me, minus the top of the upper lace section. I am planning to take in the band and remove the silicon strip and mesh underlayer, which should improve the fit. If the cups were narrower, that might also help solve part of the band and cup fit issues.

delphinesideIMAG0423delphinebanddelphinetopdelphinesilicone

Comfort: This is yet another extremely comfortable bra from Parfait. The band is soft and nothing bites. Yay!

Looks: Oh goodness. This is a luscious bra. It also happens to be a PERFECT MATCH for Essie’s “Turquoise and Caicos”. The printed elastic straps are a neat detail. The only slightly odd thing is that the lace is significantly pinker in person than it appears in any of the promotional photos. It still goes well with the other material, but it was surprising. The only thing stopping this from being full-on Marie Antoinette is the construction. These fabrics on a bra like the Charlotte would be scrumptious!

delphine

delphineessie2Shape: I can never decide whether underwire width counts as shape or fit… these are fairly average wires, which means they are wider than I’d like. Definitely narrower than most UK brands, though. However, it’s important to note that the cups are still quite deep. Anyway, due to the width of the cups and tight upper section, I’m feel like my boobs are a little bit east-west and flattened at the tops. Not extremely, but it’s also not my favourite shape. This is a better shape for those with less upper fullness and medium-rooted breasts.

Overall: The print is really what gets me here. I’m also thrilled about how comfy it it. But if this fabric could be on a 30H Casey or 30HH/J Charlotte… or a bra with deep cups and narrow wires, I’d be over the moon.

Speaking of the Charlotte, here’s another upcoming Parfait bra that I’m VERY excited about: the Charlotte in a stunning pale ice blue, which will be available in sizes 28-40 D-K!

charlotte blue

3 thoughts on “The Parfait Delphine is Divine

Leave a Reply

