I guess I like garter belts…

It’s probably abundantly clear that, as a starving college student, I tend to be quite frugal. I had a pair of tights that I loved  to death. While the legs were mostly intact (or at least fixable), the waistband/crotch was made of a more delicate (nylons-ish) material and had become utterly shredded. Unwilling to part with my beloved tights without at least putting up a fight, I grabbed a pair of scissors and decided to make stockings. The experiment went well.

But after doing this, I realized that I didn’t actually own a garter belt. (If you give a mouse a cookie…) I decided to try to make one and started searching for the non-fabric parts. As I was searching for the non-fabric parts, I found a really cheap ($4.99) and pretty lace garter belt on eBay and decided to give it a shot (I also bought a cheap and ugly beige garter belt so I could use the parts to make something prettier). I figured that the cost of the garter belt would be worth the amount I would be saving in not having to buy new tights all the time.

Now I’ve had some weird experiences buying the one-size fits all clothing items from China via eBay. They always, always look lovely in pictures… and then nothing at all like that in real life. I didn’t have the highest hopes for the $4.99 lace garter belt, but figured that I could at least use the parts.

eBay pic:

When it arrived in the mail, I was pleasantly surprised with how much it looked like the pictures. The waist is non-adjustable, but quite stretchy. I took the picture with it high on my waist, but it does end up settling a few inches lower.

It took me a while to figure out how to get the clasps to actually hold the stockings (mine are thicker than normal, since they were super-thick tights), but once I did, I was excited about the fit.  Sooooo much more comfortable than tights, which feel really strange in the waist/crotch. I may even end up wearing garter/stockings more frequently than tights…

Oh, and I also might really like the way it looks… particularly with my Masquerade Tiffany set.  :)

So yeah, I intend to convert a few more pairs of destroyed tights to stockings and make/buy at least one more garter belt.

 

8 thoughts on “I guess I like garter belts…

  1. Pretty! I love garter belts. If you’re planning on using them for everyday wear, I recommend getting some 6+ strap ones instead of 4 because they stay much better (What Katie Did and Kiss me Deadly stock them). Of course, they’re not quite as affordable as buying them from ebay :)

    1. Thanks! It does definitely seem like the 6 strap ones would be better! Kiss me Deadly has some really gorgeous pieces, which I’d love to try. I plan to invest in a nice garter belt, but thought I’d get a cheap one to try, in case I didn’t end up liking them.

      1. Yeah, I’m the same way– I like to test stuff out. I haven’t actually invested in a 6-strap yet because I am still quite attached to my tights in the winter, but it’s definitely something I want to try :)

  2. That’s a pretty genius idea! I tend to just toss my tights once I’ve destroyed them; I’ll need to be kinder. Your garter belt IS really pretty! Welcome to the wonderful world of never wearing stupid tights again :)

    1. I was planning to, but, due to the construction of these specific tights, I didn’t need to. I have another pair, though, that I’m planning to chop and then hem… but I’m still trying to think of the most effective way to keep them from running.

  3. My girlfriend experienced a revelation when trying 6, 8 and even 10 strap belts over a basic 4 strap. Kiss Me Deadly, What Katie Did, Touchable and Stockings HQ are good UK stockists. Secrets In Lace or Stockings Showcase in the US.

Leave a Reply

