Closet Cleaning…

I’ve had a few major changes in my life in the past few months and, in the craziness, I’ve realized that the amount of stuff that I have is really weighing me down.

You might assume that, as a broke college student, I wouldn’t have so much stuff… but actually, being broke is the main reason why I hoard. Growing up, my family was poor, so I got used to wanting things and not getting them. So when I did get a thing, it was a big deal… and I clung to my things as though I’d never have a “thing” again. My family’s situation improved and I got more things… but I couldn’t quite shake the mentality of “you must keep every thing because you might never get a thing again!”. This seems to be a fairly common problem for people who grew up in similar situations.

Anyway, with all of the changes in my life, I decided to start making active and positive changes. One of those changes has been to get rid of all of my “things” that I can’t use anymore. Like books that I’m not going to read again… and clothes. I have incredible amounts of clothing that hasn’t fit me since 8th or 9th grade (I’m a senior in college now)… and incredible amounts of clothing that never quite fit me (damn boobs). I had considered purging my closet, but the very thought of it terrified me. But a few weeks ago, I finally sorted through my clothes and decided to get rid of roughly 1/3 of my clothing. I gave about half of it to a friend and am planning to consign the rest of it (since I do need money to buy clothing that actually fits me).

And I am so glad that I did. I had been clinging to all of that stuff for years… and it was weighing me down.

One thought on “Closet Cleaning…

  1. It’s funny how these things all affect us differently. I also grew up pretty poor but for me it came with the mentality that I should have very few things (since we had such limited space) and sell off anything that I wasn’t using/pass it on to someone else who could. Our issue is normally that I get rid of things that I could probably still use! :)

Leave a Reply

