Weight Loss

I lost a few (4) pounds over the past week (rather unexpectedly) and my underbust now measures 29.5 inches (down from 30.5 a week ago). My 32 bands really need alteration now… and even new 30 bands are starting to fit better on the middle hook. I’m planning on altering things, but I might wait a bit longer, since I could very well lose more weight from my ribcage in the next few weeks. My boobs are still semi-inflated (womp womp), but will hopefully shrink at least a tiny bit!

Normally, losing 4 lbs in a week is something to worry about, since it’s a lot of weight to lose in such a short amount of time. And it’s unexpected, because I’ve been eating a LOT (well, a lot for me… probably about 1,500 calories/day). To put this in perspective, prior to going on thyroid medication, I’d gain weight if I ate more than 900 calories/day. At my weight and activity level, I should be losing weight if I am eating less than 2,200 calories/day… but I’m just not used to my body working normally! It’s really nice to be able to lose weight like a normal person!

The weight loss is probably due to a combination of factors:

  • walking about 5 (hilly) miles a day
  • better selection of groceries (just moved back to college), more low GI foods
  • the changes in my thyroid medication starting to take effect (FYI: it’s a super-low dose… 35 mcg of Tirosint/day)

The other interesting thing is that I’ve been eating mostly carbs. I’m getting enough protein (there’s more than you’d guess in most vegetables and even bread is a great source) and the high-carb diet has also stopped the terrifying low blood sugars that I’ve always had problems with. The most important thing is that they are complex carbs. I’m eating boatloads (okay, not literal boatloads) of radishes, greens, fresh figs, sourdough bread, etc. Because they are more slowly absorbed, my blood sugar is staying at a good place all day. Some people’s bodies do well on a low-carb diet… and other people’s bodies don’t. What matters is that you eat what’s right for your body.

I’m cautiously happy about the weight loss, but am going to be extra-careful not to eat too little while exercising this much. One complication is that I still have no appetite. It’s not difficult for me to simply forget to eat… and when I do remember to eat, I have to force myself to eat more than I want to. To combat this, I’ve been trying to eat more calorie-dense foods (chocolate, avocado, olives, cheese, etc). My fingers are crossed, hoping that the weight loss continues slowly and safely.

2 thoughts on “Weight Loss

  1. Hi there, I’m a reader who also has hypothyroidism ! (I love the blog by the way — reviews are very helpful :)
    I just wanted to say that I used to take thyroxine for my thyroid but found it completely inadequate… Ongoing weight gain (in total 25kg) and lingering symptoms. Not sure if you’ve had a similar experience but I’ve now been on Desiccated Thyroid for probably about a year and I feel like my old self again — I am in no way suggesting that your current medication isn’t adequate, I just wanted to share my experience a little — a LOT of doctors will not recommend desiccated thyroid, or indeed mention it as an alternative treatment.

    If you ever find that synthetic T4 medications are not working, or you’re still having problems, seriously give Desiccated Thyroid some thought (and research of course) it has been a total lifesaver.

    Lily

    1. Thanks for the suggestion! I’ve been taking T3 as well since May. It worked really well for the first few months, but I haven’t been feeling so great recently, and probably need to see my doctor to up the T4 again, as the balance doesn’t feel right.

Leave a Reply

