Pretty Dress!

If you live in New England, you might have seen a”Second Time Around” consignment shop. There are a bunch of them, mostly clustered in MA. My mom is mildly obsessed with Second Time Around and, almost every time I visit her, she drags me into one. This past weekend, while we were in Portsmouth NH for the day, I found this knee-length dress, by Diane von Furstenberg:

Sorry for the bad posture!

Doesn’t the print look like Shel Silverstein’s Giving Tree?

It’s a size 6, so I though I had no chance of getting my chest into it. But I tried it on anyway, and lo!, it zipped! The fabric is a slightly stretchy silk material, which helps. The band below the bust actually sits where it’s supposed to! I wouldn’t say that it “fits” my chest, but I think it looks reasonable enough to wear. My boobs are clearly a bit squished (sneaking out the top and sides) and I would need to find a lower-cut bra… but I can wear it without a belt!

When I got home, I looked up the designer. She is apparently well known for her wrap-dresses. From the looks of pictures of non-models modeling her dresses, the brand seems to be fairly boob-friendly. For example, I saw a listing on eBay for a size two dress and the person modeling it looked like a 28J (UK). I’d be interested in trying some more Diane von Furstenberg dresses. Her pieces are pricey, though, so I wouldn’t advise looking at full price items.

Edit: I forgot to mention that the dress was new, with the tags still on it. The original price was ~$400. Who pays $400 for an awesome dress and then never wears it?!

6 thoughts on “Pretty Dress!

  1. Love DVF, totally been coveting a dress by her for years now! Look around at Goodwill and similar. Usually the “savvy” consignment places will chard more for her pieces, but somewhere like goodwill probably wouldn’t. Also, check your department store clearance racks, those dresses show up there too!

    1. Yeah, it wasn’t super cheap (abut $70), but my mom had a store credit (since she consigns there) and liked it enough to buy it for me. :)

      I recently found a rather ornate Betsey Johnson skirt at the Salvation Army for about $6. I plan to wear it as a dress.

    1. Thanks! $70 for a dress doesn’t sound that bad when I consider how many full price D+ bras the same amount of money would by… in other words, I got the dress for about .75 of a pretty bra or about 1.25 basic bras.

Leave a Reply

